Why I’m Going Back to Mexico – The Plans for my Second Solo Trip

www.website.com (2)

If you follow me on social media, you will probably already know that I am embarking on my second solo trip to Mexico’s Yucatan Peninsula and I am leaving tomorrow morning! I previously visited the Yucatan only six months ago in May of 2015 for my first solo trip ever.

In the weeks leading up to my trip, various comments by people that I know, have been made to me about me traveling solo in Mexico, including the following:

“I hope you come back alive…”

“You are crazy.”

“Isn’t Mexico really dangerous? What about the drug cartels and gangs?”

It’s difficult to let these types of comments just roll off my back. I definitely find myself internalizing some of the fear behind these comments, which leads to me feeling a little nervous and to having doubts about my abilities to travel solo.

I have to keep reminding myself that other people are projecting their own fears and insecurities onto me, but I have a choice whether or not to adopt their beliefs as my own. I also have to remind myself that the people making such comments about my travels, have either a) never traveled to Mexico or b) only get their information about a country’s safety from the mainstream media (which tends to sensationalize violent and rare incidents and then make sweeping generalizations that such incidents mean that the entire country too dangerous to travel to). If our only source of travel safety information is the mainstream media and the government travel advisories, we would probably never desire to leave the comfort of our houses.

I also have to remind myself that what I am doing is not something that many people have the opportunity or desire to do. The fact that I am able to face my fears, break down the barriers and overcome my anxieties and the other challenges (ie. introversion) to traveling solo, is something that not many people do. And I think that’s pretty awesome that I am able to do those things.

I sometimes think to myself, “What if the success I had during my first trip was just a lucky fluke? What if I don’t meet any other travelers I can connect with? What if I get lonely and have to do everything by myself?”

It’s a battle in my mind sometimes between the rational side of my brain and the emotional side. My rational side researches everything possible about my destination – reading countless travel blogs and forums and reaching out to fellow bloggers and asking for their advice. But my emotional side thinks about the worst case scenarios and the doubts.

But I have to remember that I have traveled solo in Mexico once before and I know and believe that I am capable of doing it again.

Even in knowing and believing this, I have still experienced some anxiety and worry about my upcoming travels, as I do any time I step outside of my comfort zone and into the unknown. I have to learn to accept that there are many unknowns and uncertainties and that I cannot be in control of everything, but remember that God is in control.

I tend to over-plan everything in my life, so naturally, I have been spending all of my spare time lately researching and planning my travels in great detail. Of course, I also leave lots of room for relaxation and spontaneity and don’t plan everything down to the day.

Researching everything about my trip in detail is one thing that I do before traveling that helps me to feel prepared because I have a lot of knowledge about my destination. In turn, feeling prepared helps to increase my confidence and lessen the anxiety that I may have.

So getting back to the focus of this post…

Since I’ve been to Mexico before (6 months ago), you might be asking yourself, why would I go back so soon? 

In short, I have completely fallen in love with Mexico as a country. From the vibrant culture, to the delicious variety of food, to the Spanish language, to the gorgeous natural beauty (jungles, cenotes), to the impressive and detailed ruins from the ancient Maya civilization, and the warmth, kindness and generosity of the local people.

Mexico is such a vast country with a huge variety of landscapes and things to see, do and experience.

During this trip, I want to focus on exploring some my favourite places in-depth while also getting off the beaten path to discover more favourites and local hidden gems.

I am very excited to be going back to Mexico! I will be re-visiting three places that I went to during my last trip (Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Valladolid) as well as exploring three new places (Merida, the Puuc Route/Santa Elena and Campeche).

As my departure date has been getting closer and closer, I have been experiencing a mixed bag of emotions, from feeling excited, fearless and empowered to anxious, worried and fearful. Some days, I experience a range of all these emotions.

Even though I have traveled solo once before in Mexico, doesn’t mean I am immune to fear, anxiety and nervousness. It’s something that I have to deal with and overcome every time I travel.

As an introvert, traveling solo is definitely stepping wayyy outside of my comfort zone. Challenging myself in unknown territory is definitely difficult for me at times and it takes effort. I was so proud of myself for taking the leap and traveling solo for my first time to Mexico this past spring. Approaching complete strangers, meeting new people and making friends was surprisingly easier than I was expecting it to be and I met so many wonderful and interesting people – both fellow travelers and locals alike.

I learned a lot about myself, the Mexican culture and history, the Spanish language and other people, and gained so many valuable skills when I traveled in Mexico the first time. I became more independent, gained confidence in my abilities, became resourceful, learned how to handle a variety of challenging situations (learning Spanish on the go and dealing with the language barrier, navigating the public transport system, and finding my way around completely foreign places) and ultimately, felt so empowered that I had the opportunity to do something (travel solo) and experience such incredible beauty in our world, that many people do not have the opportunity to experience.

The purpose of my current trip is to hopefully discover more about myself, gain some clarity of my purpose and direction in life, travel deeper and explore more of Mexico (the colonial cities and towns, Mayan villages, cenotes and Mayan ruins), try new foods, and meet some amazing people who will maybe become lifelong friends.

I have been doing extensive travel research and planning for the past month or so now, and I have finally figured out my rough itinerary, so here it is:

November 12-15 – Tulum, Mexico.

November 15-18 – Valladolid, Mexico

November 18-22 – Merida, Mexico

November 23-24 – Santa Elena, Mexico

November 24-25 or 26th – Merida, Mexico

November 25 or 26th-28 – Campeche, Mexico

November 28-29 – Playa del Carmen, Mexico

I will not be writing any blog posts during this trip, but I will be writing comprehensive posts about the places I visited along with my stories and experiences after I return home.

If you are interested in following my journey in Mexico – the lessons I learn along the way, the challenges I face, the amazing natural beauty, the people I meet and the memorable experiences that I have – you can do so in a number of ways!

I will try my best to post photos daily on Instagram, summaries and photos from my day on Facebook, and random snippets of information, observations and thoughts along my travels on Twitter. I’ll be posting slightly different stuff on each platform, so you’ll get the full story if you follow me on all three!

I am so looking forward to meeting new friends, learning more about the Mexican culture, Mayan history and Spanish language, sampling some new foods, while exploring and experiencing the natural and ancient beauty of this wonderful and diverse country!

Adios amigos!

8 thoughts on “Why I’m Going Back to Mexico – The Plans for my Second Solo Trip

  1. Sarah M says:

    Yeah everybody’s read a few scare stories in the media and then they’re an expert on how dangerous Mexico is. All you need is a brain that doesn’t go waving your money in the air or staggering home alone drunk or something.

  2. Oak & Soul Creative says:

    How did you like Playa del Carmen? I was there for Christmas 2014 with my boyfriend. We found it very safe, but very touristy in the area we were staying. I’m thinking about going back to Mexico sometime this year, what was your favorite stop on your trip? Recommendations? 🙂

    • Brittany Maria says:

      I loved Playa! It is definitely very touristy, but I enjoyed walking around the streets further from the busy 5th Avenue. I definitely preferred Tulum though, as it had a more relaxed and laid-back atmosphere.

      I would also highly recommend visiting the inland colonial cities of Valladolid, Merida and Campeche. All of them were so beautiful with such interesting and detailed architecture and colourful buildings :). There’s also some amazing Mayan ruins and cenotes in the middle of the Yucatan.

  3. Zoey Slater says:

    Hi there!

    I stumbled onto your blog during a google search about solo travel in the Yucatan, and I can’t believe my luck (your packing post was awesome)! I’m planning a solo female trip (my second international solo trip, though my first to Latin America) to the Yucatan in two months, and your posts made me even more excited! I’ll be doing a fairly similar itinerary, though I’m only going for 10 days):
    -Fly into Cancun, then leave immediately and spend a night on Isla Mujeres
    -Bus to Merida and surrounding ruins
    -Bus to Valladolid and explore more ruins
    -Bus to Tulum
    -Up to Playa del Carmen
    -Bus up to Isla Holbox
    -Then back to Cancun and home!

    I’m looking forward to your posts about the area. I received similar “advice” about Mexico, and all the research I’ve done suggests these fears could not be further from the truth. Hope your trip went well!

    • Brittany Maria says:

      Hi Zoey!

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog :).

      And I really appreciate the compliment. You’re so sweet and that means a lot to me. I’m glad you enjoyed my packing post!

      Your itinerary sounds great! The only place on your list that I haven’t been to is Isla Mujeres. Merida and Valladolid are beautiful colonial cities.

      I am actually in the process of writing a bunch of new content and will be re-launching this blog under a new web address soon so stay tuned for more photos and posts about my most recent travels to Mexico :).

      My trip was amazing and I can’t wait to share my experiences.

Leave a Reply

