The Infinity Dreams Award

The Infinity Dreams Award

The Infinity Dreams Award is given from bloggers to bloggers and is a great way to learn about the writer behind the blog on a more personal level.

First of all, I would like to thank Gemma from Gemma Jane Adventures for nominating me for this award! I am honoured that you thought of me.

After being nominated for this award, the rules are that you have to share 11 facts about yourself and then answer the questions that the person who nominated you has asked you. You are then responsible for nominating 11 other bloggers and creating questions for them to answer.

11 Facts About Myself:

  1. I work full-time as an administrative assistant in a federal prison with minimum to maximum security male inmates (Don’t worry, it’s not as scary as it sounds!)
  2. I graduated university with a degree in Criminal Justice and Psychology
  3. My true passions are writing, traveling and finding new ways to further simplify my life
  4. I love cats and I refer to my cat Bella as my “fur baby.”
  5. I am an introvert and although I enjoy meeting new people, I need my alone time in order to recharge my internal energy
  6. I have a huge desire to travel to Guatemala – The natural beauty of the volcanoes, mountains, lakes and jungles is absolutely beautiful, the Mayan culture is prominent and fascinating, there are colourful colonial cities, and ancient Mayan ruins of Tikal are definitely at the top of the list.
  7. I have Celiac Disease, which basically means that I am allergic to gluten/wheat/flour.
  8. I enjoy living super frugally and simply in my daily life at home, so that I can save more money for travel and experiences.
  9. I love eating a variety of fruits and vegetables and try my best to find foods that are fresh, organic and local (where possible).
  10. I absolutely love researching and planning my future travels and adventures (I spend an insane amount of time doing this and it can get a bit obsessive).
  11. I am currently experiencing a quarter-life crisis and have absolutely no idea what I want to do with my life, in terms of a job or career. There are just too many options and I have too many interests!

The Questions:

What trip/holiday has inspired you the most to travel more? 

My first solo trip to Mexico this past spring was such an amazing experience! I learned a lot about myself, met some really great people along the way, and it was empowering to know that I, as an introvert, was capable of traveling solo in a foreign country. Taking this trip has definitely sparked my wanderlust and has instilled a deep desire inside my heart to travel more.

What did you do before you went traveling/while you’re at home?

I am not a long term traveler, so I maintain a full-time job at home and travel as often as I can using my limited annual leave. I work as an administrative assistant at a federal prison.

What place would you like to go back to and why?

Honestly, I could go back to Mexico over and over again and probably never get sick of it. It’s such a huge and diverse country and there are so many interesting places to explore and experience. I absolutely love everything about it – the culture, food, people, cenotes, ruins and language.

What has scared you most while traveling?

I have never really been scared during my travels, but I tend to get anxious and fearful before I leave home. My brain likes to dwell on the worst case scenarios. In order to challenge these worries, I do very detailed research about my destination so that I feel prepared and knowledgeable. I also read the Bible to find comforting passages and pray to God for strength, peace and confidence during my travels.

If you could go on an all expenses trip somewhere, where would you choose and why?

I would probably choose Australia, because it’s one of the more expensive countries to travel to from Canada, but it would be a really awesome place to experience.

What food or drink do you miss most from home while you’re away?

I definitely miss my mom’s home cooked meals the most! Also, salads and healthy food, as I tend to not eat as healthy when I am traveling.

What is your favourite souvenir? 

I really buy many souvenirs when I travel, so my photos and memories of the experiences I had are probably one of my favourite “souvenirs.” I also keep all of my bus tickets, airline boarding passes and entrance tickets for attractions, which are great physical souvenirs.

If you could interview anyone, alive or dead, who would it be?

That’s a tough question… There’s so many people I would love to chat with and interview. The person that comes to my mind right now would be Cheryl Strayed. I recently watched the movie (based on her novel) called “Wild,” and her story of strength and courage is so inspiring. I would love to know more.

What luxury travel item do you always pack?

I pack light and minimally and don’t bring anything too luxurious with me. My iPhone 5S is probably the most expensive item that I travel with. I use it for communicating with my family at home and taking photos on the road, so it’s definitely an essential item!

What’s one thing you’ve realized about yourself?

I sometimes feel like other people perceive me as shy and weak. But I have come to realize that I have a choice whether or not to accept other peoples’ perceptions as my own truths about myself. After traveling solo for my first time, I learned that I am much more outgoing, adaptable, confident, resourceful, capable and adventurous than I ever thought I was. It was empowering to learn this about myself and to start defining myself in this way, instead of accepting other peoples’ perceptions.

What impact would you like to have on others? 

I would love to inspire other people like me – introverted women who enjoy living simply and unconventionally – to overcome their fears and worries to pursue whatever they are passionate about and do what they love, regardless of how other people perceive them and regardless of the barriers that exist between them and their goal/dream.

My Nominees:

Shane from Sea Salt Secrets

Hannah from Traveller Hannah

Taylor from Taylor’s Tracks

Karlie from Miss Wanderlust

Jessica from Yucatantastic 

Lavi from Lavi Was Here

Rachel from Trailing Rachel

Mal from Mal’s Away

Elisabeth from Sidetracked Travel Blog

Mirna from The Mindful Gypsy

Hannah from Hep Cat Hannah

My Questions For You:

  1. What’s the biggest lesson that travel has taught you so far?
  2. What are a few of your best tips for how to save money to travel more often?
  3. Do you ever get scared or anxious before traveling and if so, what do you do that helps calm your nerves?
  4. Do you prefer to research and plan your travels beforehand or do you like to go with the flow and be spontaneous?
  5. Who or what first inspired you to start traveling?
  6. What is something that you love doing in your hometown, that only the locals know about?
  7. What is the most recent book you finished reading and what did you think of it?
  8. How many times do you travel in a year, and what is the length of your average trip?
  9. Do you write in a personal journal during your travels?
  10. Where are you planning on going for your next travels? When are you going?
  11. What has been your favourite city or country to visit so far, and why?

I look forward to reading your answers to these questions and to learning more about you all!

Thanks again to Gemma for nominating me for this award!

2 thoughts on “The Infinity Dreams Award

  1. Gemma Cleaver says:

    Great post Brittany, it’s lovely to know a bit more about you! I love your answers, I’ve read the book and watched the movie by Cheryl Strayed, Interviewing her would be awesome! I completely understand what you mean about being perceived as shy and weak, I am the same, hopefully less so now than when I first started my solo travels, but it’s still there lurking around me sometimes. Solo travel has also helped me realise that it’s OK, I’m not shy and weak, and when I need to be I can be outspoken and strong, I’m so glad that traveling solo has made you realise how tough and capable you are!

    • Brittany Maria says:

      Thank you so much Gemma! It was great to learn more about you as well. I watched the movie first, but I for sure have to read the book now. I’m glad I’m not alone in being perceived that way by others and I can totally relate to you about choosing to be outspoken and extroverted when the situation calls for it. I hope to discover even more about myself this trip too 🙂

Leave a Reply

