Hotel Review: Barrio Latino Hotel in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Untitled design (2)

I stayed at Barrio Latino Hotel for my last night in Mexico during my May 2015 solo trip (from May 31 to June 1, 2015).

On my last night in Mexico, I decided that I wanted to treat myself and stay in a private room at a nicer hotel. I choose Barrio Latino because it is located off the main tourist strip (Fifth Avenue) on a quieter street, it had positive reviews on Trip Advisor and the price was right ($67 CAD for one night).

View of the hotel from the street

Quick Facts:

Location: Calle 4 between Avenidas 10 and 15 in Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

Phone Number: +52 (984) 873-2384

Website: www.hotelbarriolatino.com

Email Address: info@hotelbarriolatino.com

Facebook: Facebook page

Languages Spoken: English and Spanish

Cost: $67.02 CAD for one night in a room with a king-size bed.

Amenities: Complimentary continental breakfast, book exchange, free and fast Wi-Fi, air conditioning in rooms, hot showers, linen and towels included, free international calling, guest computer, tour and travel recommendations, local guidebooks, 24 hour reception, ceiling fans in rooms, luggage storage, mini fridge in room, safe in room.

Reserve a Room: Official Website, Expedia, Hostel World

Things to Note: Taxes are not included in the price listed online (19% is added and you pay at check-in).

Huge king-sized bed in my room

Security and Safety: The hotel was located in a very safe area of Playa del Carmen. It is situated on a quiet street with smaller shops, cafes and authentic taquerias nearby. When you check-in, you are provided with a key to your private room. Whenever you leave the hotel, you leave your key with the front desk staff and they keep it safe for you and return it to you once you arrive back. I thought this was a good idea, and it ensures that nobody will lose their keys.

Location: The hotel is located on Calle 4 between Avenidas 10 and 15. It is a quiet street away from the tourist centre, but close enough that you can still walk there in 5-10 minutes. There are smaller shops, cafes and taquerias located in the vicinity of the hotel, and more touristy restaurants, souvenir shops, nightlife, the ADO bus terminal, and the beach can be found in the Fifth Avenue area, which is nearby. There is a delicious authentic taqueria located at Calle 4 and Avenida 15, that serves the cheapest tacos in Playa del Carmen for only 8 pesos a piece! You can find Flor de Michoacan, a place selling Mexican popsicles and ice cream, on Calle 2. El Fogon is my favourite restaurant in Playa del Carmen serving traditional Mexican cuisine, and they are located at Calle 6 Bis and Avenida 30. The walk from this hotel to the ADO bus terminal was short and easy.

Staff: The staff were friendly and polite. I didn’t have too many interactions with them, as I basically retired to my room for the night (after going out for dinner) after checking in. The staff member cooking breakfast in the morning was friendly as well.

View of the courtyard from my second floor room

Value For Money: The room that I booked cost me $67 CAD for one night. I normally would not spend that much money on a room, but I wanted to treat myself to a private room on the last night of my travels after sleeping in hostel dorms for the past 10 nights, and I was only staying there for one night, so the price didn’t do too much damage to my budget! The value for my money was good. The room had air conditioning which was welcomed, especially in the extreme heat and humidity the Yucatan experiences at the end of May! I had a really good sleep here, aside from the thumping of bass music that could be heard sometimes from the parties and nightclubs on Fifth Avenue. If you’re looking for a place to splurge for one night, this hotel is a good option. Staying in a private room with air conditioning on the last night of my travels was amazing and a very welcome change!

Atmosphere: The hotel had a relaxed, peaceful and quiet atmosphere. After I had been staying in hostels for the past 10 nights, it was strange having my own private room and not having a common area in which to interact with other travelers! There were two floors of private rooms and they were accessed from the outside, with a lush garden and courtyard in the centre of the rooms. There was a seating area for breakfast in the courtyard and it was a relaxing place. All of the rooms also had a comfortable hammock in front of their doors, which faced towards the courtyard and garden. It was lovely!

Hammock in front of the room

Cleanliness and Comfort: My room and all areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean. The king bed in my room was super comfortable!

Common Areas: The only common area in this hotel was the centre courtyard and garden, which featured a sitting area with tables and chairs for breakfast.

The beautiful treed courtyard in the centre of the hotel

Breakfast: Breakfast was included in the price of the room. It was served to you in the courtyard of the hotel and you sat among the lush trees to eat it. The options included various juices, cereal, bread/toast and jam/butter, and fresh fruit.

Rooms: The room was beautiful! It featured a super comfortable king sized bed (with a towel animal upon arrival!), cushy pillows, a tall dresser for clothing, a small desk and chair, a hammock in front of the room outside (facing the courtyard), a spacious bathroom with shower, toilet, hair dryer, and sink, and most importantly, functioning air conditioning! After staying in some hostels with no air conditioning at all in the heat of May, this was much appreciated! My only complaint, is that while I was trying to fall asleep, I could hear the loud thumping bass music from nightclubs, bars and party hostels nearby on Fifth Avenue and the surrounding area. It made it difficult to get to sleep at first, but once I did, I slept great. There is also a mini-fridge and a safe in the room. You get a key for the safe upon arrival.

The second floor outdoor hallway to the rooms

Internet: There is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel, including in your room. You will get a code upon checking in from the staff. The internet was very fast and I was able to Skype call my family in Canada.

Other: There is a book exchange in the lobby of the hotel, as well as various guidebooks, a guest computer terminal, and telephone to make international calls for free.

Appearance: The hotel is modern and nicely decorated. It looked beautiful from both the outside and inside. I enjoyed the garden courtyard in the centre of the rooms.

Recommended For: Solo travelers looking for a short break from hostel dorms (for a night or two) and couples.

You can check out more reviews from other guests here on Trip Advisor.

If you are staying in Playa del Carmen as a budget, independent or solo female traveler, Barrio Latino Hotel is great for a splurge night!

9 thoughts on “Hotel Review: Barrio Latino Hotel in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

  1. daehder says:

    Wish we had stayed there on our trip. We thought we would luxury for a couple of nights and made the huge mistake of going to an all inclusive in Playacar. The hotel was gorgeous, the grounds beautiful and immaculate, the staff fantastic. The food which is what we were looking forward to was absolute slop and the hotel was 4 star rated. We will never make that mistake again..lol…

    • Brittany Maria says:

      Thanks for your comment daehder! My first experiences of Mexico included staying at all-inclusive resorts in Playacar as well, with my family on three different occasions. I loved it and made many great memories, but since experiencing a different travel style, I am hooked and will probably never stay at an all inclusive again. I’m sorry to hear about your experience with the food! I completely agree. Resort food is very much catered towards tourists. If you want to find real and authentic Mexican cuisine, you have to hit the streets and find some traditional taquerias! Playa del Carmen has some really amazing places for cheap and delicious food. I hope you have the opportunity to return to Playa del Carmen in the future and stay at a hotel off the tourist path, and taste the wonderful flavours of Mexico 🙂 If you need any advice or recommendations, let me know!

      • daehder says:

        Thanks Brittany we are quite lucky we are actually living on the other side these days over on the Gulf in a tiny little fishing village called Chelem near Merida. We love it here.

      • Brittany Maria says:

        Oh that sounds amazing! I’m actually going to be visiting Merida this fall for my first time. I’m really looking forward to it and it looks like an amazing city! Have you been to the Puuc Route ruins?

  2. Andrea says:

    Thank you Brittany!
    Your nice words have been shared with our small staff and while we are accepting the challenge of new markets, new hotels, and a lot of apartments in town, we are motivated by your post, to keep the original touch of Playa del Carmen , which is very present in the area as you could notice while visiting.
    We have been here since 1997 but no doubt we will be here forever while professional services , clean room and a safe spot in town are values to independent travelers.

  3. Pingback: Playa del Carmen -

Leave a Reply

