Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

First of all, I just want to sincerely thank Gemma from gemmajaneadventures for nominating me for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award! Gemma, I absolutely love reading your blog and it is one of my favourites. I am honoured that you thought of me while nominating people, when there are soooo many amazing bloggers out there, and especially because my blog is still very new. So thank you very much! I appreciate it.

The Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award is an award that celebrates female bloggers. After being nominated by a fellow blogger, you must thank the person who nominated you and provide a link to their blog, and answer a series of ten questions that the person who nominated you has created. Then you create ten new questions for your nominees to answer and make a list of at least ten nominees (blogs that you enjoy reading).

The Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award Logo

The Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award Logo

Here are my answers to the 10 questions that Gemma asked me. My nominations are at the bottom of the page:

1. Where do you get your travel inspiration from?

A lot of my inspiration comes from reading various travel blogs, searching for specific hashtags for photos on Instagram of places that I want to visit, and following travel bloggers on social media (Facebook, Instagram and Twitter).

2. What is your most memorable experience on public transport?

This past July, I visited San Francisco with my mother. We were on the MUNI city bus heading from Alamo Square back to our Airbnb rental in the Mission District, when this female Asian child began singing “Let it Go” from the Disney movie Frozen. As a side note, she was the only child that I saw during my entire trip to San Francisco. She sang a few different songs, all popular ones on the radio, and she had the whole busload of people listening! She was actually a pretty good singer too. You could totally tell she was a natural performer and she loved the attention! It was really funny and definitely made me smile.

3. What’s the scariest thing you’ve done?

The scariest thing I’ve done would probably be making the decision to travel solo to Mexico in May and actually following through with it. I had a lot of anxiety and fears about the worst case scenarios that I had envisioned in my mind. Saying good-bye to my mom as she dropped me off at the airport was emotional and tough, but I am so proud of myself for successfully figuring things out on my own, being resourceful and navigating a foreign country as a solo female traveler!

4. What advice would you give to a new traveller?

I would say not to over-think things and not to over-research and plan your itinerary down to the minute. I have a tendency to do this. There is such a thing as doing too much research. I definitely encourage learning about where you are going before departing there, but it is so easy to get overwhelmed from information overload. Don’t overwhelm yourself… there is always going to be more information you could read about, but you can’t read it all. Also, always leave space in your itinerary and travel plans to relax and rest at your destination. It is good to do nothing sometimes. Another piece of advice I would give would be to just go! The decision to travel somewhere and following through with booking the flight is often the hardest part. After that, it’s exciting to start planning!

5. What one item could you not travel without?

My camera and cell phone. Taking photos is how I preserve my experiences and memories of a trip and I love looking back at my photos and remembering the feelings that I had during certain experiences and moments, so I definitely would be lost if I could not travel with my camera! I also couldn’t travel without my cell phone because I use it to keep in close contact with family through Skyping and texting, as well as updating my blog and social media with photos.

6. What’s one thing travel has made you realize about the world?

Travel has opened my eyes to how interesting and diverse the world’s cultures are, as well as the history and languages around the world. I am fascinated by culture, language and history and love broadening my mind and learning more about it. Meeting people from so many various backgrounds and from different countries has helped me to realize this.

7. What’s your most memorable wildlife experience?

I was staying in Tulum at a hostel during my first solo trip, and I decided to go for a walk in the morning to explore more of the town. Tulum has a lot of stray dogs and cats and along my walk, I met a very cute little dog. I pet him and from that point on, he followed me along my entire walk through town, right at my heels! I also enjoy chasing pigeons and finding cats to play with along my travels.

8. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has done for you?

Before traveling solo, I was anxious about meeting new people in hostels and whether or not I would have the courage to approach people to start conversations and make new friends (especially being an introvert). But the fellow travelers that I ended up meeting and hanging out with during my travels were the nicest people ever, and they made me feel included! It was so much easier to meet people than I had originally thought and there were a few people whom I instantly clicked with and formed a connection. It felt like we had been friends for years! So, the nicest thing a stranger has done for me, would be accepting me for who I am. I am so thankful that I had the opportunity to meet such friendly, inspiring and amazing people. 🙂

9. What do you find hardest about long term travel?

I have never traveled for a long period of time (with my longest travels being only 12 days so far). However, I imagine that the hardest thing for me would be missing my family and my cat. I am very close with my family and currently live at home, so it would be difficult for me not to see them for a long time.

10. Which country would you go back to and why?

I haven’t traveled to many countries yet, but I absolutely love Mexico. I have been three times with family staying at all inclusive resorts, once as a solo traveler, and am planning to return this November! The Mayan culture and history fascinates me, I love the Spanish language and being able to learn more of the language, I enjoy visiting small authentic Mexican colonial towns and villages, the ruins and cenotes are gorgeous, the Mexican people are so friendly and welcoming and obviously, the food is beyond delicious!

I am nominating the following bloggers for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award:

Talara from Newly Nomadic 

Emily from Places on Postcards

Kylie from Niknaks from our Travels

Katie from The World on my Necklace

Claudia from My Adventures Across the World

Elaina from Life Before 30

Laura from Green Goats Travel Blog

Jess from A Passion and a Passport

Erica from Girl Unspotted

Amy from Amy Wilde and Free

Lauren from Something in Her Ramblings

Sarah and Mel from Blondes and Nature

Gemma from Gemma Jane Adventures

These are my 10 questions for you to answer:

  1. Have you ever been somewhere that ended up being a disappointment compared to your expectations? Where was it?
  2. When and where was your first travel experience abroad?
  3. What has been the scariest experience you have encountered while traveling?
  4. Where are you planning on traveling to next and why?
  5. What has been your favourite type of accommodation to stay in while traveling (ie. hostels, homestays, Airbnb, etc.) and why?
  6. What are your top five favourite books/novels?
  7. Are there any countries or cities that you have no desire to visit?
  8. Who or what inspired you to start blogging?
  9. How do you fund your travels?
  10. What are some of your favourite things to do/hobbies when you have downtime?

Good luck ladies!

Brittany

7 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award

  1. gemmajaneadventures says:

    Great post, I love your answers, there’s some great advice in there, deciding to go somewhere solo is tough, but the thought is way worse than the doing. I remember Tulum fondly! It was my first stop when I left home to travel, Seeing more of Mexico would be brilliant too!

    • Brittany Maria says:

      Thank you! Tulum was my second stop on my first solo trip, so I have fond memories from there as well 🙂 The decision to go is the hardest part but you’re right, I would be kicking myself and regretting it if I hadn’t gone!

Leave a Reply

