Wanderlust

Since returning from Mexico approximately a week and a half ago, I have been experiencing a strong desire to embark on my first solo backpacking journey in the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico. Solo travel and backpacking an area are something that I have wanted to do for awhile. This desire has overtaken my thoughts and I cannot let it go. It gnaws away at me every day and I feel like this is something that I need to do; for personal growth and exploration of new places, people, cuisines and myself.

Since having this desire, I have been hard at work researching in my free time (things to do, hostel reviews, restaurants, transportation, flights, banking and travel insurance) and have sketched out a rough itinerary and budget. I am planning on going for the end of May and beginning of June for 10 days. I would stay in hostels in the towns of Playa del Carmen, Tulum and Valladolid while visiting the ruins of Coba, Tulum and Chichen Itza and possibly Ek Balam as well as the best cenotes in the region. I would take the local public bus and use taxis and bicycles for transportation. I would eat at local cheap eateries not catered towards tourists. This trip would be focused around learning about myself, Mayan culture, history while meeting other travelers and locals and attempting to live like a local through eating, shopping and using public transportation. I want to challenge myself and I want to do something that scares me, in the name of adventure and learning.

As a minimalist, I strive to live with less in my daily life and simplify wherever I can. I began learning about and embracing the minimalist and unconventionally simple lifestyle last year. As I decluttered my possessions and time commitments and got rid of the excess, distractions and non essential things in my life, I was able to identify and pursue my passions and dreams and focus on the important things in life. Through this process, I wholeheartedly believe that simple living brings true happiness and joy and immense clarity in all aspects of your life. I have simplified my diet, my possessions and my life focus, and I have never been happier.

As a minimalist, living out of a backpack while traveling, staying at hostels and only carrying what I need appeals greatly to me. It is a challenge that I want to undertake. My traveling style consists of a desire to live like the locals in a foreign country; to eat where the locals eat, shop where they shop and take the transportation that they take. I want to learn about language, culture, customs, history and the people in a country. I want to expand my view of Mexico from that of a manufactured all inclusive experience to a truly local and in depth experience. This trip would be part of my travel and minimalist journey in life. I want to be somewhere where I am challenged in a variety of situations, where my needs are not catered to every second of the day, where I am free to do whatever I want, whenever I want and not have to compromise any of my desires and wishes, where I live out of a backpack and sleep in minimalist hostel accommodations in order to inspire a greater appreciation for my privileged life in Canada, where I am required to rely on the goodness of others to help me in potential less than ideal situations, and where I have the opportunity to meet locals and other travelers who also live with less, either my choice or by circumstances, and be reminded why I continue to live a simple lifestyle and learn from them in their attitude of contentment and joy towards life. I want to see new places and renew my sense of awe and wonder towards our beautiful Earth.

This is my journey. This is my quest. It is about to begin and I cannot wait for what the future has in store for my life!

Leave a Reply

